Keto Fish and “chip”

When come to fish & chips, I personally like crumbed fish more than beer battered version. I have tried using pork rinds to do keto crumbed fish but the crumbs are a bit too hard for my family’s liking.

So when I saw a recipe sharing of this recipe by a brilliant lady, I couldn’t wait to try it out. And the result you ask? Excellent. It’s so close to the bread crumbed fish.

Just in case you wonder what are those “chips” in the photo made of, these are halloumi cheese.

I hope you will like this keto crumbed fish & chips as much as I do!

Source of recipe: “Rina Chan” from LCHF-keto group

Ingredients

Serving 2

2 fish fillet of your choice

Calamari rings

2 egg whites

4 tbsp coconut flour

4 tbsp almond flour

4 tbsp desiccated shredded coconut

Olive oil for pan fried

Salt and pepper

Instructions

1. Season the fish fillets with salt and pepper

2. Lightly whisk the egg white

3. Mix the coconut flour and almond flour in a shallow tray

4. Spread the desiccated shredded coconut in another shallow tray

5. Heat up the pan with generous amount of olive oil

6. Coat the fish fillet with a layer of egg white, follow by the flour mixture. Coat the fillet again with the egg white and finish up with a layer of desiccated shredded coconut

7. Pan fried both side of the fillet until golden brown.

8. Do the same for calamari rings

* to made the halloumi chip, I cut the halloumi into fries like size. I did the same coating of egg white, flour and shredded coconut like what I did for fish fillets

Leave a comment